Holding On

If you are no stranger to the Bearpit you will have realised in the last 3 months the feeling of the space has changed. A month or so ago I compared my relationship with the space as being involved in an abusive relationship. How its presence in my life has been slowing eating me inside yet after all this time I still believe it can change.

I spent most of the last two weeks waking up physically sick. Sometimes even throwing up just at the thought of what I may walk into at quarter to 7 in the morning. The abuse, the violence, the vulgarity I’d have to endure for the day. I took the morning off last Friday. Despite it being the busiest morning of the week, I woke up paralysed in anxiety.

I am baffled.

Baffled at the time traders have to take to call 101 to report minor incidents, the time response of 999 phone calls, the way situations are dealt with when we call in hate crime incidents. Last week was too much.

It’s Wednesday and I feel consumed, exhausted.. withering away.

When I left, there were more than 20 individuals drinking their Special Brew, exchanging money for spice. We witness this on a daily basis. Last Wednesday a young adult was having some reaction to the latest street drug. He began rolling on the ground, yelling, shaking, his eyes were rolling backwards and then the saddest noise you could imagine, almost one of regret as he cried for help. By the time the paramedics came down, he had taken his shirt off and was fuelled, gearing to fight anyone in his way.

A woman crossing the space began getting harassed. A young girl who has been dealing and been the epitome of anti social behaviour began making gorilla noises at her, mocking her race, her religion. It was 11am in the day.

The everyday sexims, racism, homophobia, emotional abuse, physical abuse, men being followed into the toilets by several women to exchange drugs for sexual favours – the things we witness on a daily basis is baffling when we are in the city centre, when there is a police station 5 minutes from where we are situated.

I am told conversations are happening, things are in progress but this is our reality every day.

I fear its been left for so long the cult like mentality is as strong as I remember it in 2012 when we first step foot in the space. The numbers are growing, the gravity of their actions are escalating and sometimes I really wonder if we have to sustain physical injuries before we are taken seriously.

People have asked how we do it, why we stay.. The answer has always been simple. If not us, then who? They are bullies. We see them prey on the weak. It’s very much about control. Who gets to be the ring leader today.

My empathy barely exists anymore. And I suffer for that. I get angry at myself.

We began with the core mission to be the eyes and ears on the ground so the public could feel safe. But it feels like no one is listening, no one is watching. How are we meant to keep the public safe when we are starting to feel afraid?

Last week Art in Bearpit released a video of some of the events that took place in the Bearpit during the summer. Seeing that was like a breath of fresh air. That joyful thriving place that brought people together, that is the Bearpit we are fighting for.

So I ask of you, if you have read this and you have witnessed some of the behaviours I have described, shout about it. The Bearpit is Bristol’s first Community Action Zone, but without us pulling together to demand for a safer space, it will revert back to the no-go zone it once was.

15 responses to “Holding On

  1. Thank you so much for writing this
    You’re right, things need to change and quickly. The Bear Pit could be an amazing, inspiring place, but at the present time it feels dark and intimidating. Thanks for shining a light on this. Thanks for having the courage to carry on and keep doing what you do

  2. We had an incident Tuesday at the Melbourne Cup. A woman under the influence of something. Tragic and even more tragic is the amount of times it was shown on television.
    Makes me so sad to see this behaviour becoming more and more common.

  3. I avoid the place like the plague, even in daylight I don’t feel safe walking down there. My friend and I were walking to a social night out (dressed nice, and not that the way we dress should influence/ or make excusable any bad behaviour) but we were followed from the minute we walked into the bear pit, across and over the road and down past Primark. We had to merge in with a group of people we didn’t know to get the guy to back off. He was shouting stuff at us and if we ran he ran. This was at around 9pm. The fact that there were at least 10-20 people around us at the time and this guy still did it indicates the fact that they feel safe to do as they please in that space, and make it a scary place for others.

  4. I remember when I was new to the city and I got lost between Blenheim Court, above Tesco, and Stokes Croft (ah the good old days!) and ended up in the Bearpit. I have to say I have never been so terrified – even without incident or bad behaviour shown my way. The Art in the Bearpit was a bold move – the colours – the re-fit… something I was excited about. It was when the pavillion was overtaken by nay-do-gooders that my heart dropped. I thought that it was something council-led that was about stewarding the space. I understand people sleep rough and I understand they have nowhere else to go. It would be interesting to start a drug-free shelter in parallel to whatever art is created there; i.e claiming back that space for the night and day whilst not ousting people in need. Invite buskers in and stay on top of invited street art guests, posters and rubbish.

    It feels like it’s on a brink that could fall either way. Perhaps four small events per year to look forward to:

    The sleep-out?
    A Lantern procession?
    A live band-performance?

    And definitely to get local authorities on board. Anti social behaviour is anti social behaviour, and it’s a shame that the people living and trying to make a difference bare the brunt of it.

    Good luck!

    Eloise

  5. I live there, at 51.02. I see this scene every day too.
    You’re obviously talking about the dozens of homeless gathering in the bearpit every day, drowning their absence of happiness in their drugs. Yes it is a sad view, yes it is true, it is a reality.
    Noneless let’s remember that those people have nothing, nothing but condescence and ignorance. Yes, they do get in deplorable state to forget the life they get.
    Just a simple comment to remind ourself that it’s not against those indivuals that we should stand. It’s against their lack of support.

    • I appreciate your comment. To be perfectly honest, I am standing against a selected few of them. They are not all homeless. We know most of them by first names. We see that this is very much about organised crime. This is about drugs, drug money. We see poor souls who are addicted to these drugs, forced to beg in the tunnels so they can get their fix. Yes, I definitely believe there is a lack of support. I spent my afternoon at the police station giving a statement. I also had to call 999 as I went to check on the bus traders around 6pm as a fight broke out. We are usually calling 999 so they don’t end up hurting each other. It’s a very complex issue.

  6. Bristol City Council’s approach to the Bearpit has been a joke. All that work and for what? I suggested to George Ferguson way back in 2012 that all the Bearpit needed was a 24 hour permanently manned police kiosk in the centre of the area and that would negate the ridiculous upper ring pavement as people would feel safe to go through it. Next thing you know you could have night markets and 24 hour stuff going down. Well if I had been made mayor that would have happened but alas. Rich Fisher – still Independent

  7. Great post, and really sad to read – so where do we shout, who do we shout to? It’s been amazing to see the changes in the Bearpit – I remember all too well running the gauntlet over the dual carriage ways to avoid setting foot there at night – and would be awful to see so much hard work and positivity washed away.

  8. Wow! As somebody that walks through twice and a passionate advocate of Bristol and the Bearpit, I had no idea it had got so bad for you guys. How sad!

    Would a drinking bad help? Is it already in place and ignored?

    I’d just like to say a huge thanks for everything you’ve done to area over the last few years. Knowing now what it’s taken and what you continue to go through to make it better and safer for the people of Bristol should be more widely recognised. It sounds like its become a real challenge and an thankless task, so here’s a big thanks from me.

  9. I walk across the Bear Pit several times a week. I do not feel intimidated and I have never been harassed or even approached by anyone. I can see that there are some very damaged people hanging out there but whenever I go past they appear to be locked into their own world and — like most alkies/druggies, arguing loudly about nothing in particular.

  10. I just want to thank the people who work in and with Bearpit.
    I ride through there with my kids. I feel safe knowing my bike gives me a barrier against the anti social behavior but I can see the potential for trouble each time.

    That said it has become and amazing space of transformation. I realize that it can sometimes feel no one is watching. That we aren’t listening. But we are. It has been amazing and wonderful to watch. To the point now it looks like it can become a destination, not just a transit space.
    It will happen and you will get there.
    The drugs will find another stream of society to pollute as they become all too visible.
    Police could do with opening a pop-up their for one week a month. That would sort a lot out.

  11. I just want to thank the people who work in and with Bearpit.
    I ride through there with my kids. I feel safe knowing my bike gives me a barrier against the anti social behavior but I can see the potential for trouble each time.

    That said it has become and amazing space of transformation. I realize that it can sometimes feel no one is watching. That we aren’t listening. But we are. It has been amazing and wonderful to watch. To the point now it looks like it can become a destination, not just a transit space.
    It will happen and you will get there.
    The drugs will find another stream of society to pollute as they become all too visible.
    Police could do with opening a po-up their for one week a month. That would sort a lot out.

  12. I’d really like to meet you to talk about this – I am a city Alderman and currently standing for election in the ward containing the bearpit – 15 years ago there was a plan to fill it in so that all activity was at road level – the money never came forward – interested in what can be done – my email should show up on your blog admin page if not reply to this

Leave a comment